The Ultimate Book Tag

I was scrolling through some like-minded blogs, and found this little beauty. I immediately started mentally answering the questions, and so therefore figured I would post it for myself. You should do it too!

The Ultimate Book Tag

  1. Do you get sick while reading in the car?

Unfortunately, I totally do. It used to drive me completely bonkers, but as an adult I have discovered audio books. Problem solved. I now get to “read” without making myself completely nauseated, and my husband gets to not hear me complain about how bored I am.

  1. Which author’s writing style is completely unique to you and why?

I really don’t know how to answer this question. I think probably Brenda Novak though. Her Whiskey Creek series is phenomenal, and I can never tell how the characters will end up.

Another really good one is Cinda Williams Chima. The Warrior Heir series was something I had never ever read, and none of the components reminded me of anything, which is really rare. So I recommend it.

  1. Harry Potter series or the Twilight Saga? Give three points to defend your answer.

Ahaha. If you know me at all, you know my answer is Harry Potter every single time. The reasoning is

  1. Hermione Granger, Ginny Weasley, Luna Lovegood, Minerva McGonagall, Molly Weasley. I mean really. What series have you ever read that has so many amazing female characters?! They’re all strong and smart, and I basically want to grow up to be just like them.
  2. Wizards over vampires. Every time. The world that JK Rowling created is so detailed and vivid. The characters struggle with real things, and face hardships that kids that age should never have to consider. Not to mention the realities that are brought up, like slavery and racism. Rowling addresses these real life problems in a way that is completely appropriate for the young adult, and it really makes a difference. Kids and teenagers that have read HP are less likely to be racist. They did a study about it. Basically, HP teaches us what our parents have preached for years. It’s what is on the inside that counts, not what we look like, or our abilities.
  3. The honesty in the books about those real life situations. The Harry Potter series shows what friendship is really like. It sometimes sucks, and sometimes it fails. But in the end, your friends come through for you. And love is the most powerful magic of all.
  4. Do you carry a book bag? If so, what’s in it? (besides books)

Notebooks. My Hunger Games pen case (filled with a variety of types and colors of pens and pencils). A planner. Headphones.

  1. Do you smell your books?

I thought that that was an understood thing. Of course I do.

  1. Books with or without little illustrations?

I honestly have no preference. As long as it has a good story line, I’m happy.

  1. What book did you love while reading but discovered later that it wasn’t quality writing?

I really enjoyed the Twilight series. I’m not ashamed of that. But the writing left a good bit to be desired.

  1. Do you have any funny stories involving books from your childhood? Please share!

Probably my best stories all involve the release of the Harry Potter series. My mom found HP and the Sorcerer’s Stone shortly before the Chamber of Secrets was released. I don’t actually remember if she read it aloud, but I’m pretty sure she did, at bedtime. For all the subsequent books, we would go get them at midnight, and my brother (who is 2 years old, and infinitely bigger than I am) would steal it as soon as we got out of the store (if he waited that long.) The book followed him around the house until he finished it, and if he accidently left I laying somewhere while he did something else, I would steal it and get started reading it. He would steal it back from me when discovered, and I would impatiently wait my turn. This continued for years, with my 6-14 hours it took for us to read them was entirely too long to wait.

Suffice to say, my entire family loves HP. And my poor mother, who bought the books to begin with, had to wait for all 3 of her children to read it first, because we read faster than she does.

  1. What is the thinnest book on your shelf?

Probably The Screwtape Letters by CS Lewis.

  1. What is the thickest book on your shelf?

The Complete Works of Shakespeare. I have it in one volume.

  1. Do you write as well as read? Do you see yourself in the future as being an author?

I don’t write anything more complex than a blog post.

  1. When did you get into reading?

I can’t honestly remember a time that I didn’t read. I know that I was reading chapter books in Kindergarten.

  1. What is your favorite classic book?

I don’t know if it counts, but I LOVE the Secret Garden. Also, Oliver Twist.

  1. In school was your best subject Language Arts/English?

Not really. They never gave me things I was interested in reading, so I didn’t put much effort into it. I loved Chorus.

  1. If you were given a book as a present that you had read before and hated… what would you do?

Smile, and turn it in to get a better book in secret.

  1. What is a lesser known series that you know of that is similar to Harry Potter or The Hunger Games?

Oh wow. Umm. The Warrior Heir series I mentioned earlier I suppose. But it isn’t really similar at all. I don’t know how to explain it really. But there is magic. And a rebellion for freedom. So I guess that is the closest I can get.

  1. What is a bad habit you always do (besides rambling) while blogging?

Straying off topic I suppose. I go online with the intent of writing something very specific. I always veer off topic into some side story and I’m never sure that I actually wrote what I intended.

  1. What is your favorite word?

Do I have one? I don’t think I do.

  1. Are you a nerd, dork, or dweeb? Or all of the above?

Total nerd. I’m totally okay with it.

  1. Vampires or fairies? Why?

The Vampires in the House of Night series are amazing. I’ve never read anything with fairies, so I choose vampires.

  1. Shapeshifters or angels? Why?

Umm. Angels. Not because of books though. Supernatural has Castiel, so angels are kind of badass. Haven’t read a series focused on this either.

  1. Spirits or werewolves? Why?

Curiouser and curiouser. I suppose werewolves, seeing as Remus Lupin was a werewolf, and he is one of my all time favorite characters.

  1. Zombies or vampires?

Vampires, because of the same reason I mentioned in 20, also Zombies are disgusting.

  1. Love triangle or forbidden love?

I think both have their place, and can be really well developed and written. Not gonna lie though, I’m tired of the love triangle thing. It was overdone in Twilight, and then the Hunger Games had the same underlying theme.

  1. Full on romance books or action-packed with a few love scenes mixed in?

Once again, both have their place, and I really enjoy both. That being said, I cannot abide a book that has no deeper plot than boy meets girl, sex sex sex sex sex, “oh my goodness I love you”, marriage. It feels like a sincere waste of time.

One thought on “The Ultimate Book Tag

Leave a Reply

